Location: Home / News Center / Company News / Main types of stainless steel

Main types of stainless steel

Date:2019.08.21 Source:Wuxi Kang Bei Er Steel

Stainless steel is usually divided into martensitic steel, ferritic steel, austenitic steel, austenitic-ferritic (duplex) stainless steel and precipitation hardening stainless steel. In addition, it can be divided into chromium stainless steel, chromium-nickel stainless steel and chromium-manganese-nitrogen stainless steel.

1. Ferritic stainless steel

It contains 15%-30% chromium. Its corrosion resistance, toughness and weldability increase with the increase of chromium content. The resistance to chloride stress corrosion is better than other kinds of stainless steel. Crl7, Cr17Mo2Ti, Cr25, Cr25Mo3Ti and Cr28 belong to this category.

2. Austenitic stainless steel

It contains more than 18% chromium, about 8% nickel and a small amount of molybdenum, titanium and nitrogen. This kind of steel contains a lot of Ni and Cr, which makes the steel austenite at room temperature. This kind of steel has good plasticity, toughness, weldability, corrosion resistance and no or weak magnetism.

3. Austenite-ferrite duplex stainless steel

It has the advantages of both austenitic and ferritic stainless steel and superplasticity. Stainless steel with about half austenite and half ferrite structure. Compared with ferrite, this kind of steel has higher plasticity and toughness, no room temperature brittleness, better intergranular corrosion resistance and weldability.

4. Stainless steel plate and strip for pressure equipment

Special stainless steel for pressure vessels, commonly used brands are 06Cr19Ni10, 022Cr17Ni12Mo2 digital code: S30408, S31603, etc. Mainly used in food machinery, pharmaceutical machinery and other sanitary equipment

Please input keywords